Skip to content


A settlement is a place with buildings where people live. Our physical environment determines the type of settlement we have in a particular area. A settlement could be a town or village or an area with many houses built by people or government.

There are two types of settlements.

  1. Urban settlement
  2. Rural settlement

You can also read socialization

  1. Urban Settlement: This refers to developed towns like Onitsha, Owerri, Port Harcourt, Calabar, Abuja, Lagos, etc.

In urban towns, houses are built close to one another with many people from different parts of the society living in the area. Houses built in urban areas includes:  duplexes, bungalows, sky scrapers etc. people are usually many and have different types of occupation, they also have different types of religion and speak different languages.

  1. Rural Settlement: Rural settlements refers to places like villages or country side where people live. Such places are a quiet environment and have enough space to build houses. Their major occupation is farming, mining, forestry, usually, they have a common language and have the same culture and custom. The rural dwellers supply the urban dwellers with food.


Types of houses

Houses are built for shelter or protection from elements such as rain, heat, wind. The types of houses found in an area depends on the physical environment of that area. Houses found in urban areas are different from houses found in rural areas.



  • Define settlement

Mention and differentiate the two types of settlement we have.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Fully Funded Scholarships

Free Visa, Free Scholarship Abroad

           Click Here to Apply